Gluten Free Honey Nut Cheerios Recalled For Containing Wheat?!

8 October 2015


People with wheat allergies and celiac disease, if you have purchased the Gluten Free Honey Nut Cheerios - you may be at risk! General Mills has voluntarily recalled over 1.8 million boxes of their Gluten Free cereal. Everyone loves Honey Nut Cheerios, but if you have wheat allergies or celiac disease then I best suggest you check to see if your box of Honey Nut Cheerios sitting in the cupboard has been included in this recall, otherwise you are at risk for potential adverse health effects.

The General Mills Gluten Free Honey Nut Cheerios that have been recalled were inadvertently exposed to wheat flour in the Lodi, California factory. So select boxes of this cereal made at this facility on the select date are being recalled to avoid any illnesses that may be caused by the wheat flour that was accidentally put into the gluten free oat flour system. Which essentially means there is wheat inside the product that is labelled gluten-free. I sense somebody getting fired!

So what exactly happens to somebody who eats gluten or wheat when they are not supposed to? They may become impacted - or worse. So I best suggest you return your cereal box if it is included in this recall. This recall does include 4 days production of the original yellow box Cheerios, and 13 days production of the Honey Nut Cheerios. Both are the gluten free type. If your cheerios have the "Best Before" date from the list below, then you are going to want to contact General Mills and get your money back or better.

Honey Nut Cheerios:

  • 12JUL2016LD
  • 13JUL2016LD
  • 14JUL2016LD
  • 15JUL2016LD
  • 16JUL2016LD
  • 17JUL2016LD
  • 18JUL2016LD
  • 19JUL2016LD
  • 20JUL2016LD
  • 21JUL2016LD
  • 22JUL2016LD
  • 23JUL2016LD
  • 24JUL2015LD
  • 25JUL2016LD

Yellow Box Cheerios:

  • 14JUL2016LD
  • 15JUL2016LD
  • 16JUL2016LD
  • 17JUL2016LD

Can you believe that this is quite literally General Mills third recall in less than a two month time frame. What's going on over there General Mills!? Starting to be a little hesitant about eating cereal for breakfast at this point. If you have a gluten intolerance then I am sure you know the feeling. Products that contain wheat can cause a great amount of discomfort and even illness for people who have that intolerance.

You can read all about it on the General Mills website, but essentially if you have concerns or would like to do something about your recalled product then you are going to want to call 1-800-775-8370 after you check the dates on your Honey Nut Cheerios.

TOPICS:   Grocery   Recalls


  • Sue
    My nephew is gluten-intolerant had a migraine the other day - poor little guy, 8 years old. My sister couldn't figure it out then traced it back to these recalled Cheerios :( Any idea if they are comp'ing people for pain and suffering?
    • ashley
      sorry but....a migraine wouldn't be related to a gluten intolerance and i'd hardly call it "pain and suffering"
      • Julie
        You would hardly call a migraine pain and suffering?! Clearly, you've never had one and shouldn't judge. There is a link to migraines and gluten-intolerance. You may want to do some research next time before sounding stupid.

What do you think?

Connect with Facebook, Twitter, or just enter your email to sign in and comment.

Your comment